We love nights out with Smirnoff and 2threads

Ah Smirnoff. How you shaped my formative drinking years: so many fond memories of jelly shots at house parties and night’s spent huddled in nightclub toilets with my girl friends, taking turns to swig your wares from inconspicuous water bottles. So when the lovely Amanda from 2threads asked me to share what getting ready for a night out means to me, in your honour, I couldn’t resist. I had to do you justice.

I was, however, somewhat stumped. Here’s why: getting ready has never been a big deal for me. If I’m allocated more than one hour to primp and preen, and pre-drinking isn’t included, I’m pretty lost. My getting ready routine usually takes place at work, whether it be the office or my hospitality gig, and involves throwing on the outfit I grabbed together that morning, touching up my eyeliner, and attempting to tame my hair. Hardly glamorous.

So what’s a girl to do? Enlist the photographic talents of her best friend, Miss Rebecca Hiscock, and show what getting ready looks like, Lowdown-style.

Kikki K jacket, Sportsgirl shoes

First step: make sure you don’t forget the little things. I’m usually far too lazy to paint my toenails, but with the warmer weather come gorgeous open-toe heels, and no-one likes manky talons. Besides, it’s a great excuse to get outside and enjoy the stunning grounds of Carclew Youth Arts, where I’m lucky enough to earn my living.

Imprint dress; vintage dress

When it comes to a night out on the town (or a night out anywhere, really), dresses are my item of choice. The one on the left is perfect for a casual summer’s eve, dining and barhopping with friends. It reworks the ever-popular nautical stripes into a dainty, flouncy number, that works just as well with flats for the day as it does with a sexy pair of wedges for night. I usually cinch in the waist with a simple tan belt, and will definitely be making sure I fake tan-it-up before I actually wear it out.

The dress on the right is from the Fitzroy markets in Melbourne and is one of the best bargains I’ve ever scored – it cost a measly $5 and creates a stunning hourglass silouhette. I’ve worn it to fashion parades, art exhibitions, theatre openings and cocktail parties, and its simple elegance perfectly compliments my disorganised brand of accessorising (more on that a bit later).

(Please forgive the facial expressions – the Lowdown office is currently going through a Zoolander phase)

So we’ve got the shoes and the dress – now for that extra touch. Like most people I’m usually trying to do about 5 things at once, so getting ready in front of my trusty brick of a Mac is often the way to go.

Fix the hair…

Check the pout…

Left hand: my grandmother's ring, Stannard-inc cuff; Right hand: Bauhaus rose ring, Cult ring

And add the accessories. I tend to wear the same few accessories with everything (which is silly when you see how many necklaces/earrings/rings I actually have…) At the moment I’m obsessed with this Stannard-Inc cuff I bought at the Bowerbird Bazaar a few weeks back. It says “Danger! High Voltage” which I think is hilarious (holler all you Electric Six fans) and it gets commented on every time I wear it. I wear those rings, along with a vintage Alice in Wonderland one that I recently dropped while drunk and broke, all the time as well; the big copper rose in particular is great for mosh pits when drunk girls in heels are getting you down – just “accidentally” stab them in the back with your ring.

And there you have it! Getting ready, these things we love style. For more (useful) tips, check out what the lovely Katherine of caught couture and Sam of Twin Cat vintage had to say; and don’t forget to bookmark 2threads for all the latest in everything fashion.

2 thoughts on “We love nights out with Smirnoff and 2threads

  1. Pingback: Keepin’ it Stylish with the Face Facts Winners « these things we love

Leave a Reply

