The Secret Garden

Is it sad that one of the longest relationships in my life has been with a clothing label? Whatever; since 2009 I’ve religiously lusted after Sydney label Secret Squirrel‘s bi-annual collections – I even wrote about their AW ’09 collection for Indie Art + Designsee.

So imagine how chuffed I was to receive an email from none other than Andrew Prince, one half of the SS creative team (alongside his partner, Bri Cheeseman). My new mate Andy had kindly sent me the lookbook for their Spring/Summer 11/12 collection, ‘Botanica’. I’m sure this would’ve been way more exciting had I posted this first thing like I intended, but life tends to get in the way. So even though it may no longer be breaking news, allow me to present to you my favourite items from ‘Botanica’:

Gardenia dress (digital) $360        Chameleon playsuit (burgundy)

Gloriosa halter dress (olive) $390


Larkspur dress $330                  Hollyhock tie top (citrus botanical)
                                     $190; Alocasia shorts (lime) $185

Hellebore shirt $240; Camelia      Hidcote shirt $230; Foxtail skirt
skirt $290                         (black) $340

Columbine sundress $195           Tuberose top (dove grey) $210; Camelia
                                  skirt (digital floral) $290

Bri and Andrew were inspired by the organic shapes, muted colours and soft beauty of traditional English gardens. The highlight of the collection, however, has to be their collaboration with renowned jewellery and graphic designer Elke Kramer on the botanical and digital floral prints. It’s a big call, but I think this is Bri and Andrew’s finest collection yet (you can make up your own mind by checking out their past collections).

So even though it’s a long weekend and the weather outside may be near perfection, you’ll find me squirrelled* away inside, saving my pennies until one of these babies can be mine.

Get yourself all frocked up through the Secret Squirrel online shop (they offer free shipping within Oz and a $20 flat rate for overseas) or consult their list of stockists.

x

*I do so love a dreadful pun.

12 thoughts on “The Secret Garden

  1. These clothes are lovely & look like they would be good quality, which I think is worth the extra $$$. Would much rather pay extra for some quality Australian made items than some cheap & nasty, sweat-shop produced clothes any day …
    PS I’m also a local Adelaidian. Found you blog a while ago & thought it was about time I said hi!
    Kelly xo
    Elegantly Academic

    • I only own one Secret Squirrel item, a plain grey tank top, but it’s got to be the comfiest and highest-quality singlet in my wardrobe. So I definitely agree that they’re worth the price tag.
      Thanks for saying hi, I just checked out your blog and your style is wicked! Being denizens of Radelaide, hopefully we’ll cross fashionable paths sometime

      x

  2. Jacquie,
    Thanks so much for the comment. I am shocked and happy to hear someone all the way in Australia is reading my Nylon Dailies :) !! I already own one pair of Black Milk leggings, want to covet much much more. Knowing myself, I’ll probably buy myself everything on that list eventually.

    xx
    Tiffany Diane

  3. Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I’m inspired! Extremely helpful info specifically the final part :) I handle such info much. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

