Keepin’ it Stylish with the Face Facts Winners

You  may remember that a little while back, I posted about a t-shirt design competition being run by the team behind the Ecstasy. Face Facts campaign. Or you may not. Either way, the competition was a whopping success with over 257 entries. The votes have been tallied, and I can announce that Georgie Dunn (15-18 yrs category) and Ellenor Argyropoulos (19-21 yrs category) are the two lucky ladies who took home the major prizes of $2,000 plus a $250 Moshtix voucher and 2 tix to Creamfields, respectively.

Now, you may have noticed that these things we love is pretty much devoid of outfit posts (besides that one time I got dressed for a night out with Smirnoff and 2threads). There are several reasons for this, but the mains ones are: a) the only camera I own is embedded in my iPhone; b) I’ve never quite mastered the whole “using an iPhone to take outfit pics in a mirror” business; c) I’m painfully inept at posing in front of a camera, unless the aim is to look as silly as possible (I’m great at that); and d) as a bootylicious size 12, I feel out of place next to the plethora of successful, modelesque size 6 fashion bloggers.

That said, when Megan from An Australian Wintour asked me to show off some of the winning Face Facts t-shirts, it seemed like a reasonable excuse to ignore all of the above qualms and show off some of my favourite wardrobe items (the ones I wear to death), giving you all a bit of a more glimpse of the real Alice Jacquie. So thanks to the photographic skillz of my beautifully helpful boyfriend, we have three of my favourite ways to style a simple t-shirt on a crisp winter’s day.

T-shirt: Face Facts Judges’ Pick, Kaitlyn Hackney; Skirt – H&M (similar here); Stockings – Coles (don’t judge me); Boots – Pure Hype from Lula Blu (similar here & here); Necklace – Deadly Pretty designs (similar here & here; Lipstick – MAC cosmetics in Lady Bug)

In RuPaul’s Drag Race speak, I’d say this outfit is serving up casual polished punk chique realness. T-shirts tucked into high-waisted skirts are a style staple of mine; it’s such an easy way to be comfortable yet polished. I bought the skirt in Amsterdam during last year’s Eurovision trip, and whilst I love how trans-seasonal it’s proven to be, pairing it with some opaques and cute boots is definitely my top way to wear it. Speaking of boots, I couldn’t find these Pure Hype ones anywhere, but they’re the first pair of knee highs I’ve ever tried on that have fit comfortably and actually reached up to my knee (being tall has its downsides).

On a side note, whilst trying to find the above H&M skirt I stumbled across this striking, wavy A-symmetrical hemmed leather mini from The Last Romantic on The Iconic, which I’m now a little obsessed with.

T-shirt: Face Facts runner-up Naomi Chilcott; Jeans – GRAB (similar here & here); Boots – Rubi Shoes (similar here); Necklace – Deadly Pretty designs (similar here & here)

Confession: this ensemble takes out favourite status because it feels a little bit grungy and I’ve always wanted to be a punk (I’m just not angry enough though). I’m also fascinated by Los Dia de Los Muertos, so Naomi’s Mexican sugar skull design hits the nail on the head. I’ve had those GRAB jeans for three or four years now and they’re still going strong, though I kinda wish they had a bit of a looser Boyfriend fit to them, like the ZARA alternative. The boots were on sale at Rubi shoes – I couldn’t find them anywhere online, but I did find these TDF apricot suede ankle booties instead. Rubi and Cotton On have definitely picked up their game in the past few months, and have been delivering some really great on-trend items for decent prices.

T-shirt: Face Facts Judges’ Pick Rob Di Giovanni; Leggings – Supre; Boots – Therapy shoes; Lipstick – Rimmel London Colour Showoff in Shocking Pink from Priceline

I own about four pairs of Therapy shoes, and if I had my way I’d own every pair they make. These blood red zippy numbers are higher than I’d normally attempt, but are an effortless way to jazz up an otherwise plain outfit for a night out. Style Tread have an excellent range of Therapy on offer too, FYI. I don’t advocate the wearing of leggings as pants, so I’d usually pair these Supre leggings with a longer top (general rule – any more than the bottom third of butt cheek visible is unacceptable), but I made an exception this time to show off these leather-look babies (they’re soooo comfortable, I pretty much live in them).

The necklace you can see in the bottom right of the first image and above was made by the gorgeous Michelle at Lost. Found. Made. It arrived in the post the other day and I’ve worn it every day since; the tiger’s eye is meant to aid in creativity and focus, but I just like the length and look of it. She stocks a bunch of hand-made goodies alongside delicious vintage finds – check out her Etsy store and follow her on Facebook and Instagram, if only because she’s such a lovely lass.

And here’s a close-up of my two Gamer Girl necklaces, both from Deadly Pretty designs. I’m so devastated that the store seems to have disappeared, as they had some fantastic jewellery – I’d always intended to get a fluorescent green version of the Resident Evil T-virus necklace (pictured left) to layer with the blue one.

Congrats again to all of the Face Facts winners, and to everyone who entered – I hope the experience sparked the design fire in all of you!

xo

2 thoughts on “Keepin’ it Stylish with the Face Facts Winners

Leave a Reply

