A Peep at the Streets of Fashion Week

As any self-respecting fashion blogger or reader knows, the action outside global fashion week shows is often as hot, if not hotter than what’s going down on the catwalks inside. As we transition from one season to the next (whether it be shedding layers for spring/summer like me, or beginning to pile them on in the northern hemisphere), street style snaps become the smart girl’s inspiration guide to renovating her existing wardrobe – and sussing out what she simply can’t live without. Below, some of my favourites from Milan, New York and London fashion weeks, as snapped by Streetpeeper for Sportsgirl (their blog is totally worth bookmarking, by the way).

If I wanted to dress for a jaunt on a yacht at Cannes, this would be my go-to ensemble. Instead, I’ll be grabbing my midi skirt, knotting everything I can get my hands on and setting my imagination to overdrive.

Everything about this screams effortless chic. Loving the boxy fit and soaring hemline, but most of all the reflective Ray Bans. Like a boss.

I want a tomboyish slogan sloppy joe and a delicate doily miniskirt to pair it with!

This is everything the wistful punk inside of me dreams about. In fact, every inch of me dreams about those ankle boots (and having gamine legs to stretch above them).

When I first saw this outfit, I thought she was wearing sweat pants and I was overjoyed at finally finding a way to wear trackies to the office without looking like I’d gotten lost on the way to Centrelink (that’s a welfare office for any non-locals). She’s not, but I’m going to try my luck anyway.

This chicky (to borrow an Alex-ism) is quite possibly my favourite of all these lovely ladies, because she knows that the best accessory is a smile (cheesy, I know). Of course, it’s prolly impossible not to smile in such a sunny skirt. Also, the amount of texture variations going on in this outfit? Best.

It’s a mother-fuckin’ pinafore WITH A SKATER SKIRT!! Topped off with a tee adorned with a cartoon of what looks suspiciously like Karl Lagerfeld. If that’s not winning, I really don’t know what is.

It’s always fun to spy outfits that remind you of your besties. This preppy little French number reminds me of my lovely friend Bec, who kicks ass at op-shopping and looking elegantly European no matter how highly strung she feels. Jealous? Yeah, me too.

I’ve been lusting after a Letterman jacket for as long as I can remember lusting after anything fashion-related. If anyone can recommend one, I’ll repay you in copious amounts of online praise.

To be honest, I’m not loving the way these two boxy silhouettes have turned this pretty little lady into a human rectangle, but separately, both pieces are radness cubed.

Can we somehow harness the powers of the Internet to get Susie Bubble’s people to call Bjork’s people and arrange a get together? Because seriously: that would be so much win. SO. MUCH.

The best way to work this season’s monochromatic trend without feeling totally dullsville? Rock a digital print, like this ash cloud tulip mini. Being a gorgeous flame-haired fashion pixie will also work in your favour, but is by no means essential.

[all images: Phil Oh/Streetpeeper for Sportsgirl]

Leave a Reply

