Live it just for what it’s worth

inspiration board_resolutions

Inspired by the works of Kimberly from a bit coquettish*, I decided to kick off 2013 with a visual interpretation of what I’d like to achieve this year.

~ Inject a bit of old-fashioned glamour into my relatively laid-back, simplistic lifestyle – particularly when it comes to fashion and beauty. Whilst I’m never going to abandon my love for all things punk, street and hopelessly kitsch, as I approach my mid-twenties it surely wouldn’t hurt to have a bit of an elegant streak tucked away. Plus, I’ll take any excuse to rock a bold red lip.

~ Wear more lipstick. Moreover, develop some discipline in the art of re-applying said lipstick throughout the day, instead of simply swiping it on right before grabbing my morning takeaway long black and then being lazy for the rest of the day. I recently stumbled upon the brilliance that is Limecrime lipstick; and like Ash Ketchum in the Pokeverse, I’m desperate to catch’em all. However, before I’m allowed to blow a week’s paycheck on their crazy array of colours, I’ve promised to give some love and attention to the lippies already filling my maquillage bag.

~ Spend more time outdoors. Even if it’s just sitting out in the backyard reading. My Christmas-New Year vacation was spent house-sitting for a workmate down by the beach, and after just 3 afternoons spent lounging on the deck I’m a delightfully delicate shade of tan. We’re talking the kind of natural caramel that I’ve never been able to achieve from a bottle; that comes not from hours baking in the blazing heat, but from gentle smatterings of Vitamin D.
This is also the closest I’ll get to an exercise resolution. With no intention of joining a gym anytime soon, and no real love for running, it’d be nice if 2013 could yield some sort of outdoor physical activity that’ll keep me fit and offer enjoyment at the same time. Bonus points if it’s something I can convince the Boy to take part in too.
Current ideas include hiking (Adelaide has a surprising number of gorgeous walking trails to offer, not far from the city and without the maddening crowds of Mt Lofty), waveskiing, and informal bouts of dodgeball at the nearby school oval.

~ Read as much as humanely possible. Fuel said reading with copious amounts of delicious herbal teas, but only one coffee per day (unless it’s Fringe time, in which case anything goes).

~ Continue to love with every fibre of my being. I would have also included a friend-related image but there was no space. Regardless, I wish to treasure every amazing person who comes and goes from my life, and do my best to let them know how kick-ass they are.

~ Make false eyelashes my bitch.

~ Journey the globe, seek out adventure and collect as many tales as possible, all in the company of the man I love.

Finally, all of the above points aside, as long as 2013 is as awesome as 2012, that’s good enough for me.

xo

* Recommended reading: Kimberly’s post on New Year’s Resolutions

Images: a bit coquettish/Pinterest
Title lyric: The Flatliners – ‘New Year’s Resolution’

2 thoughts on “Live it just for what it’s worth

  1. I love everything about this!

    “Continue to love with every fibre of my being. I would have also included a friend-related image but there was no space. Regardless, I wish to treasure every amazing person who comes and goes from my life, and do my best to let them know how kick-ass they are.”

    ^ Beautiful. I need to do this as well. Happy New Year! x

Leave a Reply

